Budapest Strings with Gábor Bretz

2020-09-28 19:30
Zeneakadémia, Nagyterem, 1061 Budapest, Liszt Ferenc tér 8.

A. Vivaldi: L’Olimpiade – overture RV 725
J. S. Bach: Ich habe genug – cantata, BWV 82
C. Ph. E. Bach: Symphony in E minor, WQ 178 H. 653
W. A. Mozart: The Marriage of Figaro – overture, K 492
W. A. Mozart: Non più andrai – Figaro’s aria from Act one, K 492
L. v. Beethoven: Fidelio – Rocco’s aria, Op. 72
W. A. Mozart: Don Giovanni – Leporello’s catalogue aria, K 527
W. A. Mozart: Symphony No.33 in B flat major, K 319

Soloist: Gábor Bretz – bass




One of the most beautiful among Bach’s inconceivably rich output of cantatas is the solo cantata Ich habe genug, which often features in the repertoire of sopranos and more recently countertenors. The work was originally written for bass voice and Gábor Bretz, the globe-trotting singer in tonight’s concert by the Budapest Strings, will sing this first version, composed in 1727. A few years afterwards appeared Vivaldi’s opera L’Olimpiade, while C. P. E. Bach’s Symphony in E minor was written six years after the death of his father. Adolf Hasse, one of the most respected musicians of the period, said of the three-movement work that he had never heard a better composition. Hasse probably heard the version for string orchestra, but in their concert the Budapest Strings will play the version orchestrated with wind instruments added. In the concert’s second half Gábor Bretz will perform arias sung by three quite dissimilar operatic figures, and it is by no means impossible that a fourth one will appear as well.